The Plain White T’s are an American band from Villa Park, near Chicago, IL.

The band was formed in 1997 by Tom Higgenson (vocals and guitar) and Ken Fletcher (bass) during their high school years. Both of two were members of a band called Harvey’s Daughter before they left it to create their own band. They asked Dave Tirio (drums) and Steve Mast (guitar and vocals) to join them. They made themselves known by playing in clubs and bars in Chicago, and especially at the Metro.

They earned a very few money but had a little group of fans behind them. In 2000, the band released the auto-produced album “Come On Over”.

Mike Retondo joined the band after the release of the auto-produced album “Stop” (which has been re-edited when the band signed with Fearless Records), in 2002 ; De’Mar Hamilton soon afterwards ; and Tim Lopez in 2003 – just before the recording of “All That We Needed” (released in 2005).

The band was complete now, and formed by…

De’Mar Hamilton (drums/vocals)

  • Born on April 15, 1984.
  • His band’s favourite song is “That Girl”.

Thomas John (Tom) Higgenson (vocals/acoustic guitar)

  • Born on February 22, 1979.
  • He’s the main songwriter of the band.
  • His band’s favourite song is “1,2,3,4”.
  • He was involved in a car accident in 1999. Since that, his songs became more personnal.

Tim G. Lopez (guitar/vocals)

  • Born on December 30, 1980.
  • His band’s favourite song is “Someday”.
  • He’s the songwriter of the following songs : “Sunlight”, “Rhythm Of Love”, “Body Parts”, “The Giving Tree” and “Haven’t Told Her” and the lead singer of this last four titles.
  • In 2013, Tim took part in the NBC reality show “Ready For Love”, produced by Eva Longoria. The principle was helping 3 single men to find love. Unfortunately, the diffusion has been canceled, but the latest episodes are viewable on the website of the NBC – for the American residents only.

Michael (Mike/Mick) Retondo (bass/vocals)

  • Born on May 14, 1981.

Dave M. Tirio (rythmic guitar/vocals)

  • Born on October 28, 1979.

The “All That We Needed” 13th track was the song that gave the T’s an international notoriety. “Hey There Delilah” has been on top of charts and won several prizes.
In 2006, the band joigned Hollywood Records, sang for the “Superman Returns” soundtrack, and released “Every Second Counts” and a “Hey There Delilah” EP, with some exclusive tracks on it. They won an mtvU Woodie award for the Best Emerging Artist.

In 2007, they were nominated at the Amerian Music Awards (for the Favorite Breakthrough New Artist) and at the MTV Video Music Awards (for Monster Single of the Year). They also won a Teen Choice Award for the Choice Summer song with “Hey There Delilah”, which became Platinium the same year.
The band was twice nominated at the Grammy Awards in 2008 (for the Best Pop Performance by a Duo or a Group with Vocals and the Song of the year).

The same year, they were nominated at the NRJ Music Awards (for the International Revelation of the Year) and at the People’s Choice Awards USA (for the Favorite Rock Song). They participated at the soundtrack “Nightmare Revisited” and released “Big Bad World”. The song “1,2,3,4” became Platinium in 2009.

In 2010 came « Wonders Of The Younger ». « Rhythm Of Love » became platinum in 2011. The song « Welcome To Mistery » had been recorded for Tim Burton’s movie « Alice in Wonderland ».

In 2012, they covered « Pet Sematary », a Ramones’ song, for the movie « Frankenweenie ».
In 2013, they came back with an EP called “Should’ve Gone To Bed”.

In 2015, an independant band again, they release « American Nights ».

© Plain White T’s Europe


Laisser un commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:


Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )


Connexion à %s